angels in the architecture..

Today was the first day of ArtCorps’ orientation.  There were presentations from a few of the artists which allowed them to share with the group their life experiences and education in the arts as well as their inspirations and goals for the year.  I was talking to a friend of mine just now and could not find the words to describe how i felt being here, living this moment, a moment I have been anticipating for some time now.   To say it as simple as I can, today a sense of happiness fell over me that literally stirred my blood.  Inspiration has new meaning for me after today.  The artists with whom I will be working along side throughout the year are people with such clarity of heart and soul that I found myself sitting idle during discussions admiring what they had to say, as if I was sad cross legged at the elders counsel fire.   Some are here for their first time, others for their second and a couple for their third consecutive year which gave the group a great dynamic.   Those with experience working in their respective communities told stories of their time there and passed on advice which those about to embark on their projects for the first time soaked up like dry bread in soup.

I am so excited to get started on this project if for nothing else but the enthusiasm that each artist has shown towards my presence.  Pau (Pablo) from spain is a musician and I have asked him to help write some music for my films, and his eyes lit up like a child being asked if he wanted to jump into a pool of chocolate milk – atleast thats what my reaction would have been (still is).

I named this post angels in the architecture, because on my way to Guatemala I was listening to Paul Simon’s Graceland album – no surprise there – and today I really did see angels in the architecture.   I felt a smile grow on my face that I havent felt in a long time.  When I think of a better way to describe it I will… but for now I am happy.

3 responses

  1. joshthejournalist

    ” I wish I was more poetic to describe it,”… this post sounds pretty poetic to me!

    January 19, 2010 at 16:46

  2. Carole Veenema

    Hi Galen,

    Wow, I’m very pleasantly surprised to learn you’ve got this wonderful talent, and making good use of it.I’ll be checking in and following your journey. Enjoying your blogs and photos. Have a safe and wonderful journey!
    Love,
    Carole.

    January 19, 2010 at 22:20

    • laura smith

      mmm… chocolate milk!
      Galen! I love this blog entry. I want to see the angels in the architecture… show them to me please… I am so excited to have you along on this journey… However, I think I may have lost you… The past few nights I’ve walked by your house neighbor, and the lights have been off. Are you still in Honduras??! Lemme know when you get back.
      Abrazos

      February 18, 2010 at 15:16

Leave a Reply

