Cool Beans

I am approaching one week since I arrived in Guatemala and already I have frijoles (beans) coming out of my ears.    The typical cuisine in Guatemala as in the rest of Central America is heavy in beans, corn, tortillas (made from corn), chicken, eggs and rice.   All of which I hold dear to my heart, so this isn’t a complaint, simply an observation.   At least my digestion will stay in check throughout the year.

This last week was spent at a local cultural centre and coffee plantation called Azotea.   This place was so interesting, although our time to explore was limited I did manage to sneak a few, perhaps un-authorized walks around the grounds.   I got to see how coffee plantations worked, at least in the most basic sense.   What was very impressive was the drying yard, a large empty space just filled with coffee beans.  This is where they dry them before they are roasted.  See pictures in the attached album.  There was also horse riding which seemed to attract a steady group for the four days we were there – some locals and some tourists – who may have been expats.   This has inspired me to try something new – horseback riding.  Maybe by the end of the year I can be somewhat proficient?  We shall see… but it something I feel like I would appreciate immensely.

The schedule is starting to gather momentum however I will have to wait a couple more weeks before I have a better idea of when and where I will be throughout the year.

Early tomorrow morning, we (the artists and I) are heading to various municipalities in the area surrounding Antigua to spend the weekend.   Here the artists will have to work with local community leaders and development organizations in creating interactive sessions with local youth as a sample of what they will be doing for the rest of the year in their respective communities – but also to pass on what they have learned in the workshops of the past week to those who will carry on the facilitation of these sessions in the future.

One response

  1. nikos

    Cool beans, Jack. When I looked for the photos I just realized you posted this today.

    I’m definitely looking forward to seeing some photos of you on a horse senor Cowboy Brown

    January 21, 2010 at 22:54

Leave a Reply

