My new favorite fruit.

Nispero (LoQuat in english) is my new favorite fruit.  Unfortunately it is not in season right now and while on a short hike at the base of el Volcan de Agua this weekend, there were only very few ripe fruits at our disposal.   The few that I had however literally launched my taste buds towards new frontiers I never new existed.   Upon rupture of the skin, there is an immediate and deadly experience of a sweet and sour juice filling your mouth – followed by a more mellow and refreshing sensation.. seriously the best taste ever.   Most are small, however I was told that they can grow to be twice the size of the ones we got to try and get even juicier.. oh how I long to try a Nispero of such Juiciness.

Nispero.

Leave a Reply

