8.8 Earthquake Devastates Chile.

This morning I opened my internet browser at 6:30am  to find a headline on the New York Times homepage that was gut wrenching.  “8.8-Magnitude Earthquake hits Chile”.   I was immediately on the phone trying to reach my parents who are currently stationed in the Capital, Santiago.  I could not get through on any number.   It was then when the phone lines were dead that I really started to worry.  At around 8:30am, I received a call from a colleague of my father to confirm that my parents were fine – relief.  I am still unable to reach them, I am sure things in Chile are a mess right now, so I will be patient.   I pray for others in the country and my friends and their families.  The damage looks extensive with power lines, highway overpasses and buildings collapsed throughout the Capital Santiago and even worse damage reported in the southern region near Concepcion where the epicentre of the quake was.

http://www.nytimes.com/slideshow/2010/02/27/world/20100227-CHILEQUAKE_index.html

3 responses

  1. My prayers are with you and your family and to those affected by this quake

    February 27, 2010 at 12:58

  2. Renee

    Thinking of you and your family…

    March 1, 2010 at 21:05

    • thanks Renee. They are fine thank God, just hope that the rest of Chile overcomes this.

      March 1, 2010 at 21:06

Leave a Reply

